The snowstorm, the eagle and the snowhorse.

Boy did it snow this week! One thing I missed about the Northwest is the change of seasons. We didn’t really have much of that when I was living in Vegas and SoCal. So when the first snow of the season hit a few days ago this week, I had to go outside just like a kid in a candy store and play.
Since its been awhile since I got to take Ellya out on a photoshoot, we took advantage of the gorgeous snow storm and the unusually beautiful light and took some winter shots out in our backyard.

Here’s our backyard covered in the first snow of the season.

0603

Some dramatic shots of Ellya by the old lamppost.

0610

My brother commented that this photo reminded him of something from “Twilight” the movie. What do you think? I know the book was set in Washington so perhaps the ambiance? Anyway, there’s something magical about these photos. Does this say Twilight to you? By the way, Joe just got me the book today and I am looking forward to reading it. Ellya just saw the movie and told me that she thinks the book was way better than the movie.

0628

0652

0666

0667

Since we were snowed in today, I decided to take my new 17-50mm 2.8 lens for a walk around the farm. Our brave UPS man just delivered it last night, and you should’ve heard me screech as he pulled into our driveway and handed it to Joe,  right out of his freezing  brown truck. Yes, I have a thing for lenses.

Anyhow,  I ended up following my son John Andrew while he ran around the backyard, trying to catch snowflakes with his tongue, throwing snowballs at me and making his magical snowhorse. He also made a snow chair and a snow Eiffel Tower. I asked him why the horse, the chair and the Eiffel Tower and his reply: “Just because I was inspired”.

The old farm fence in the snow.

0043
0054The cold weather didn’t keep this boy inside the house.
0059
When was the last time you stuck your tongue out to catch a falling snowflake?

0060
0068
0089
0109

And here’s his magical snowhorse…

0193

While out taking photos, John and I got  so excited to see the eagle come back that afternoon to join us. This eagle is a daily visitor and visits at least 2-3 times a day, “hanging out” on the island out in our backyard. So  Mr. Eagle flies by and sits by the tree. Now, I’ve been trying to get a good shot of this elusive eagle for weeks now. I’ve also been stalking him for at least a year now and have gotten good photos of him throughout the year in different seasons  but I have never captured one of him during a snowstorm.
It’s kind of strange how it seems as if I’ve gained his trust. He seems to recognize me as I approach him with my camera. I know that these majestic creatures have great eyesight and can see for  1 to 1 1/2 miles away (thus the term eagle’s eye). So I know that he can see me as I come close to him with my camera in my face. Well this time he stayed still for a few minutes and posed for me. Thanks Mr. Eagle. You are gorgeous!
0126

0119

Alas, he flies away as I move in closer.
0167

With my beautiful wildlife subject gone for the day, I went back to shooting the kids having fun in the snow. Here’s Ellya and John goofing around.

Ready…
0227

Set…
0228

Jump!

0229

I couldn’t resist taking more photos of our place blanketed in snow. Who would’ve thought shooting landscapes could be fun?

The bridge to the island. By the way, this bridge was built by Joe’s step dad. It was a childhood dream of his to build a bridge that would connect the farmland to the small island surrounded by the slough.
0150
I seem to like winter branches…
0155The frozen slough…
0080
0343

The long walk from our driveway to the house…

0335

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw Joe come up and join me for a walk, so I had to take this photo of him, clearly one of my favorites from the day.

0271

0275

And one of me that Joe took…I had no makeup…I’m so brave to place this on the blog but I sort of like it…what do you think?

0309
0287
Have a great Christmas everyone, enjoy the season and stay warm, Toni

Leave a Reply

